FICL - Bio

Dr. Ashok Sharma,FCIArb

Dr. Ashok Sharma, a Fellow of CIArb (London), is sitting as an arbitrator both in commercial, construction and maritime arbitrations. He is on Panel of Arbitrators of Singapore International Arbitration Center (SIAC); Beihai Asia International Arbitration Centre (BAIAC), Singapore; Indian Council of Arbitration(ICA)-Commercial & Maritime; International Center for Alternative Dispute Resolution (ICADR); SCOPE Forum of Conciliation & Arbitration (SFCA).

He was the General Counsel of MMTC Limited, India’s first Golden Super Star Trading House and leading USD 15 billion Government of India International Trading Company having a subsidiary Company ‘MMTC Transnational Pte Ltd’. in Singapore and a Steel Plant ‘NeelachalIspat Nigam Limited’ in Orissa, India.

He has advised MMTC in complex commercial matters, structuring of JVs, setting up of a Gold Refinery JV, a Steel plant in Orissa, setting up of a Commodity Exchange etc.

His track record of 46+ years in the legal profession stands amply acknowledged by being a Member of the Executive Committee, ICC India [India Chapter of International Chamber of Commerce, Paris (ICC)]; General Committee, Singapore Chamber of Maritime Arbitration (SCMA); Governing Body, Indian Council of Arbitration (ICA); Hony Treasurer, International Centre for Alternative Dispute Resolution ( ICADR ) New Delhi; Governing Body, SCOPE Forum of Conciliation & Arbitration [SFCA]; and former Chairman of the Standing Legal Committee, SCOPE (Apex body of Public Sector Units in India).

He has acted as a Consultant to the World Bank in India on an assignment on “Solutions and Innovations in Procurement” in 2016-17.

He is a Member of the Editorial Board of magazines (Hong Kong)- Indian Business Law Journal &Asia Business Law Journaland also aMember, Editorial Board of ICA Arbitration Quarterly Journal. He is a Faculty Member, Certificate Course on ADR by Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (ICAI).

Dr. Ashok Sharma, Chief General Manager (Law) MMTC Limited, was conferred the National Law Day Award 2008 for his `Outstanding Contribution to Practice of Law relating to Public Sector Undertakings' by then Hon’ble Prime Minister, Dr Manmohan Singh.